top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeronica- The InspireHER

2020….Baby, What Is You Doing?


Sisters, how y'all doing? Brothers, y'all alright?


2020 just rolled in and showed her entire behind and we are the ones getting in trouble. Now, we got to be in the house before the street lights come on. I ain't had a curfew since I graduated high school. Let me tell you, this quarantine life ain't for the weak at heart. If you're an extrovert, I know you are pulling your hair out, but it's better to be safe then sorry. This Coronavirus has changed the game and leveled the playing field. It does not care about race, how much money you got, or how old you are. It is ruthless, so I hope you guys are taking the necessary precautions and staying safe out here in these streets.


I don't know about you but this whole thing has my anxiety on 1,000. Everyday, all you hear about is the death toll and how high its getting and the predicted numbers that will pass away from this virus. It's causing fear to rise up and I just can't go down that road again. So I came up with some strategies to lower my anxiety and conquer my fears. It is uncertain, how long this will last, but one thing is for sure...Life still must go on. Here are some things I am doing to get my mind right:


1. Pray- I have always been a prayer, but I have never prayed so much in my life. I find

comfort in the Father at times like these. God has calmed my fears and He leads me to

scriptures that helps me to focus more on faith then fear. I also created a prayer Journal. Everyday I write out a prayer for that morning and sometimes that night. It helps me keep track of what I prayed about and what Got answered. I love it. Also, Read Psalms 91 (the prayer of protection).



2. Limit my intake of news and social media- Look, every time I was on my social media, all I saw was Corona deaths. Watching to much of that stuff will spring up fear in you so

quick and I will not do that to myself and you shouldn't either. I limit my time on each

of my social medias and I only watch the news every other day.



3. Get some fresh air- I get up early every morning and walk around my apartment complex. I am glad that the people I live by practice social distancing and some have face mask (Yes, I wear mines). This activity gets me out of the house and into the sun so I don't feel so trapped. Plus I get in my daily dose of exercise. It's a win-win. So, go get that vitamin D in your system, but take the proper precautions.



4. Start Gardening- I don't have a green thumb (girl, I killed a cactus), but I wanted to try

something new. So I bought these little dollar plants from Target and I swear, they have

given my apartment a little more life. I get so excited when I see that first bud come out

of that dirt. I just love it. Plus it takes my mind off of everything that is going on around

me. Girl, start a garden. But wash your hands afterwards.


5. Read a book. I am an avid reader so this comes easy to me, so I have a stack of books

that I can read. Just find something that interest you. Do you like romance? Mysteries? Black Love? Self Help? Girl the possibilities are endless. Lately, I have been reading about how to cooking cause....Quarantine. So I am trying new recipes every day. I am gonna be a certified chef when all this is said and done. Books allows you to escape reality for a couple of hour or minutes (if you struggling). So go grab a book, find a comfortable seat, get your special drink (mines just happen to be wine) and step into a world that is not your own.


So these are just some of the things that I do to help me deal with what 2020 is throwing at me. What are you doing to keep your sanity in these trying times? Leave a comment down below.

Remember to be safe, practice social distancing, wash your hands, and STAY YOUR RASS HOME.


Blessings

The Inspireher


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page