top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureVeronica- The InspireHER

Giving Flowers


Rest In Peace Nipsey Hussele
Photo Credit- Awax Design Production

When I heard about the death of Nipsey Hussle, I was sad to see that we lost another black man. I didn't know much about Nipsey Hussle or his music. All I knew, is that he dated Lauren London. It was revealed that this man was an Icon in his community. Everybody spoke about how amazing he was and told stories about how he helped out in his community. He was buying the block back and creating jobs for people in the neighborhood. I never knew anything about this and then I started to wonder, why I never heard about it.


My grandmother use to always tell me to give people their flowers while they are alive because they ain't gonna be able to hear you when they are dead and gone. When I saw all the people that knew him personally, using their platform to show love to Nipsey, I was wondering if they every told this man this in person. Did they tell him "Thank You for buying the block back", "Thank you for feeding the kids", "Thank you for creating this job so that I can take care of my family". Did they? I saw where T.I. and Meek Mills bought out his Marathon Store. Did they not think about doing that before he passed? I'm just asking, so don't be in my comment section trying to come for me.


So I sat myself down and started thinking about the people in my life. Do I acknowledge my friends accomplishments? Do I support my friends and family in their business and invest in their dreams? Do I share their wins and re-post their business on my social media platforms? Have I told my mom how wonderful she is to me today? Did I tell my dad I am so thankful for the relationship that we have developed over the years? Did I tell my Business Coach that she rocks and I appreciate the push she gives me everyday? I want the people in my life to know that I really appreciate them and I love them. I want to see their reactions when I love on them with my words. I want them to know that they are a vital part of my life and I will do anything for them. I want to give them their flowers while they are able to receive them. I don't want to tell other people how wonderful they WERE to me. I want to be able to tell people how wonderful they ARE to me. Catch that tea, boo.


Nipsey's death made such a big impact that the gangs in the community came together on his behalf. But, I don't want us to wait until the people we love is gone to appreciate their presence in our lives. Who do you need to give flowers to on today? Drop your answer in the comments and when your done, go tell them how important they are to you. The Marathon must continue.


Peace and Blessings

Veronica

The InspireHER



23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page